Naz Bokhari OBE – Honorary Fellow 2011

Dr Raphael Wilkins with Hina Bokhari who received Naz Bokhari’s award with Lord Mitchell


First Muslim Headmaster to be awarded an Honorary Fellowship from The College of Teachers 

On the 17th May 2011, Naz Bokhari OBE joined an elite group of world-renowned educators when he became the first Muslim to be awarded an Honorary Fellowship from The College of Teachers. This award is conferred upon individuals who have made a significant contribution to education nationally or internationally.

His daughter Hina, who received the award on behalf of her late father said ‘we are all very proud of our father’s achievements.  He had to overcome many obstacles to become first Muslim headmaster.  His dedicated service to education is a hallmark of a man who was an epitome of a public servant.’

The President of the College of Teachers, Raphael Wilkins, commented as follows. ‘The College has awarded Naz Bokhari the Honorary Fellowship in recognition of his broad contribution to education, especially through his leadership of Ernest Bevin College and his contributions to institutional governance including as a member of GTCE and of the College’s own Council, where his experience and commitment were greatly appreciated.’

His local MP, Rt Hon Chris Graylings, commented as follows:  “Naz Bokhari was a real pathfinder in education in this country, who set an example for many many others to achieve in our schools.”

Previous Honorary Fellows include: Dr Johnny Ball, Sir Michael Barber 2010, Dr Yvonne Burne OBE 2010, Rebecca Edwards 2010, Professor Michael Reiss 2010, Lady Vallance of Tummel 2010, Chris Waterman 2010, Professor Mick Waters 2010, Professor Robin Alexander 2009, Christine Gilbert CBE 2009, The Very Reverend Dr John Hall 2009, Professor Lesley Saunders 2009, William Simmonds 2009, John Simpson CBE 2009, Alan Tuckett OBE 2009, Dr Hilary Emery 2008, Professor Ray Page 2008, Mike Baker 2006, Professor Joan Freeman 2006, Sir David Green KCMG 2006, The Baroness Estelle Morris of Yardley 2006, Professor Philip Adey 2002, John Atkins 2002, The Lord David Puttnam of Queensgate CBE 2002, The Baroness Susan Greenfield of Ot Moor CBE 2001, Professor David Hargreaves 2001, Sir Trevor McDonald OBE 2001, Professor Geoff Whitty 2001, Chief Emeka Anyoaku GVCO 1998, Professor Robert Franklin CBE 1998, Dr Stephen Hegarty 1998, John McIntosh 1998, Efua Sutherland-Addy 1998, Dr John Trim 1998, Tim Wheatley 1998

Click Here To See Pictures Of Ceremony

Click Here To Read About Naz Bokhari’s Award

Click Here To Read Wandsworth Guardian

Click Here To Read Surrey Comet

Click Here To Read The Muslim News

Programmes Officer

We’re Hiring: Programmes Officer


We’re Hiring: Executive Assistant

Operations Coordinator

We’re Hiring: Operations Coordinator